Suzette Cowell

County Commissioners also appoint new member

TOLEDO, OH, February 2, 2024: At its January 2024 meeting, the Lucas County Children Services Board named its slate of officers for the 2024 calendar year, and announced that it is welcoming one new member.

Suzette Cowell was named board chair. Ms. Cowell is CEO of the Toledo Urban Federal Credit Union. She has served the LCCS board since 2009.

Johnetta McCollough, recently retired executive director at TASC of Northwest Ohio, was elected vice chair. She was first named to the LCCS board in 2012.

Alethea Easterly, founder of Quality Time Learning Center, will hold the position of secretary. She joined the board in 2021.

Rev. Dr. Donald Perryman will serve as board treasurer. The pastor of Center of Hope Baptist Church was named to the LCCS board in 2019.

Kathy Vasquez, who has served as board chair since 2021, was named immediate past president. Ms. Vasquez, a retired University of Toledo administrator, has served on the LCCS board since 2015.

The LCCS board names its own slate of officers from members appointed by the Lucas County Commissioners.

Dr. Cowell announced that the Commissioners have appointed Timothy Meyer, vice president at the Lathrop Company, to the LCCS board. He began his term at the January 2024 meeting.

About Lucas County Children Services

The mission of Lucas County Children Services is to lead the community in the protection of
children at risk of abuse and neglect. This is accomplished by working with families, service
providers and community members to assess risk and coordinate community-based services
resulting in safe, stable and permanent families for children.