On Tuesday, January 2, 2024, Toledo Council elected Carrie Hartman as president of Council in a majority vote of seven (7).  “As I assume the role of Toledo City Council President, I recognize the challenges that lie ahead. I am confident that, together, we can overcome anything,” said Council President Hartman. “I am honored to serve as your Council President, and I am committed to embodying the qualities of a good leader: transparency, integrity, empathy, and resilience. I am ready to work side by side with my colleagues, the mayor, and all of our residents and partners to build a brighter future for our beloved city.” Her duties include presiding at Council meetings and preparing its agenda.

Tonight’s meeting also marked the first action of newly-elected Councilman Adam Martínez, who joins Council following the retirement of Matt Cherry, former Council president and District 2 Member of Council.

Members of Council John Hobbs lll (D1), Theresa Gadus (D3), Vanice Williams (D4), Sam Melden (D5), Theresa Morris (D6), and Carrie Hartman (at-large) were sworn-in to their new 4-year terms by Presiding and Administrative Judge Michelle Wagner.

EDITOR’S NOTE: New 2024 City Council, Agenda Review, and Zoning & Planning Committee Meeting Schedules – the regular schedules of City Council, Agenda Review, and Zoning Committee meetings have changed for 2024:

Zoning & Planning Committee meetings be held on Tuesdays at 4:00 pm. The first Zoning Committee meeting this year will be held on Tuesday, January 9, 2024 at 4:00 pm.

Agenda Review meetings will be held every other Wednesday at 2:00 pm. The first Agenda Review meeting this year will be held on Wednesday, January 10, 2024 at 2:00 pm.

City Council meetings will be held on every other Wednesday at 4:00 pm. The first meeting this year will be held on Wednesday, January 17, 2024 at 4:00 pm.